

Excerpts

Minutes of the: meeting of the Co-ordinating Committee

held in: Geneva

on: 25 – 26 October 2006

Chairman: Ms. J. Auber (HP)

Secretary: Mr. I. Sebestyen (Deputy SG Ecma)

Attending: Mr. M. Breidthardt (IBM), Mr. O. Elzinga (Ecma), Mr. K. Fisher (Intel),

Mr. H. Narita (Fujitsu), Mr. J. Neumann (Toshiba), Mr. S. Statt (Intel), Mrs. I. Valet-Harper (Microsoft), Mr. J. van den Beld (SG Ecma),

Mr. P. Weijenbergh (Philips)

1 Review of the work of the TCs

The TC Chairmen's reports are attached to these minutes (pdf version only) and were presented as follows:

TC12 Mr. Elzinga

TC15 Mr. van den Beld

TC20 Mr. Statt/Mr. Elzinga

TC26 Mr. van den Beld

TC31 Mr. Neumann/Mr. van den Beld

TC32 Mr. Elzinga

TC38 Mr. Fisher/Mr. Elzinga

TC39 Mr. van den Beld

TC43 Mr. van den Beld

TC44 Mr. van den Beld

TC45 Mrs. Valet-Harper

1.8 TC39 - Programming and Scripting languages

In the absence of a written report Mr. van den Beld gave a verbal report.

TC39 did not hold a plenary, but its TGs had separate meetings.

The Chairman, Mr. J. Marcey (now "Ex-Intel") has stepped down and moved to the East Coast. The CC expresses its warmest appreciations and thanks for the excellent chair function. New Chair is Dr. J. Miller from Microsoft; the VC position is vacant.

All in all the level of activity is lower (except for TG5, TG4 and TG1).

TG1 is gearing up this moment. For June 2007 they will update ECMAScript. They are very active at the moment. Most work is done by correspondence; one F2F meeting is expected.

The CC reminds TG1 that **Accessibility** aspects should not be forgotten in their work (e.g. how to use ECMAScript to make websites suitable for accessibility, since there is a false believe that ECMAScript is less suitable for that. It is more suspected that the reasons for this lie in the actual implementation of the Browsers).

TG2 and **TG3** have been dormant since C[#] and CLI were fast-tracked and approved.



ISO/IEC JTC 1 disapproved the **CLI DIS**. The BRM was postponed to most likely 10-12 April 2007 in Oxford, UK, back to back with SC22 because most comments come from its WG21 experts. Mr. Hill, SC22 chair, will chair the Ballot Resolution Meeting.

TG4 (Eifel) works on the new edition of their standard. This will take about two more years.

We have a report from **TG5** (TC39/2006/022).