



Excerpt

Minutes of t	he: meeting of the Co-ordinating Committee
held in:	Geneva
on:	6 – 7 May 2009
Chairman:	Ms. J. Auber (HP)
Secretary:	Mr. I. Sebestyen (SG Ecma)
Attending:	Mr. M. Breidthardt (IBM), Mr. K. Brookes (Sony), Mr. O. Elzinga (Ecma) part- time, Mr. D. McAllister (Adobe), Mr. H. Theis (Avaya),

Mrs. I. Valet-Harper (Microsoft), Mr. P. Weijenbergh (Philips)

Phone call: Mr. J. Neumann (Toshiba) part-time, Mr. Theis (Avaya) part-time

**Excused:** Mr. K. Fisher (Intel), Mr. J. Neumann (Toshiba), Mr. K. Yamashita (Hitachi) and Mr. Theis (Avaya).

## 1 Review of the work of the TCs

The TC Chairmen's reports were presented as follows:

- TC12 Mr. Elzinga TC20 Mr. Elzinga TC26 Mr. Sebestyen TC31 Mr. Weijenbergh TC32 Mr. Theis TC38 Mr. Elzinga TC39 Mr. Neumann TC43 Mr. Sebestyen TC44 TC45 (dormant, no report was provided) Mrs. Valet-Harper TC46 Mr. Sebestyen
- TC47 Mr. Elzinga
- TC48 Mr. Elzinga
- TC49 Mr. Sebestyen

## 1.7 TC39 – ECMAScript

See report: TC39/09/027.

**Mr. Neumann** has reported about TC39: The TC, having agreed on a roadmap for evolution of the ECMAScript Language, is continuing to make progress on the release of the next version of the standard (Edition 5). The current plan is to finalize the testing and the review by July 2009 so that the draft can be submitted to the GA for approval in December 2009. The committee has made a decision to bypass the use of the name "Edition 4" because of the association of this edition with a previous effort (since abandoned by the TC). A Google search of "ES4" yields over 70,000 hits on the Internet referring to the previous effort. This association was considered to be a source of future confusion and thus the next edition should be named "Edition 5".