Ecma International Home
  What is Ecma
contact us
Ecma Site Map


Ecma Fellow award Ecma Fellows

The Ecma Fellow award recognizes selected Ecma individuals who have served Ecma for a long time in an exceptionally outstanding fashion. Ecma grants those individuals the status of Ecma Fellow who, if they choose to, would be able at no cost continue to participate in Ecma work as Emeritus members. The Ecma Fellow award and Emeritus membership policy is available here.

Donald Baines
Fellow awarded in 2019

The Ecma Fellow award honoured Donald Baines for his significant contributions to the development of Ecma acoustics Standards.

Donald Baines became the first Chair of TC26 when it was formed in 1980 and he served as either Chair or Vice-Chair for each of the 17 years he was a member of TC26 until his retirement in 1996. He was a co-author or significant contributor and editor or co-editor of every TC26 standard and technical report from 1980 to 1996.

Donald Baines designed and then managed the ICL Acoustics Laboratory in Manchester, England from 1970s until his retirement in 1996.

Kei Yamashita Kei Yamashita
Fellow awarded in 2019

The Ecma Fellow award honoured Kei Yamashita for his leadership and outstanding contributions to the development of Ecma Standards.

At Ecma, Kei Yamashita has a long and active participation in the work of TC17, TC31, TC38, TC44 and TC51, but also in the GA, CC (ExeCom), as a member of the management and as Chairman of several TCs. He made major contributions to the development of magnetic tape, optical disk and access systems standardization. He was President of Ecma between 2015 and 2017. His participation spread over 30 years. Today, he continues to participate and serves as Vice-President, Treasurer and Chairman of TC51.

Kei Yamashita joined Hitachi’s Consumer Electronics Research Center in 1972 and progressed through several technical roles to the R&D Group Chief Architect Office  when he retired in 2019. Kei Yamashita is a graduate of Keio University in Tokyo and received the prize of the Japanese Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry at the industrial Standard Awards ceremony in 2016.

Brendan Eich Brendan Eich
Fellow awarded in 2018

The Ecma Fellow award honoured Brendan Eich for his leadership in the creation of the ECMAScript (JavaScript) standard and for his outstanding contributions to the development of the ECMAScript standard.

Brendan Eich is the co-founder and CEO of Brave Software ( and the Basic Attention Token (

Brendan Eich previously served as CTO, then CEO of the Mozilla Corporation. Prior to that, he co-founded the Mozilla project and foundation. While at Mozilla, Brendan Eich helped launch the award-winning Firefox web browser.

Brendan Eich is also the inventor of JavaScript, the Internet's most widely used programming language.

Allen Wirfs-Brock Allen Wirfs-Brock
Fellow awarded in 2018

The Ecma Fellow award honoured Allen Wirfs-Brock for major contributions and his active participation to the development of the ECMAScript standard.

Allen Wirfs-Brock is an expert in programming languages and their implementation with broad experience developing compilers, virtual machines, programming environments, and complete computer systems. He was a technical innovator and business leader during the emergence of object-oriented programming technology and was deeply involved with the development of the Smalltalk programming language. From 2009-2015 he was the project editor of the ECMAScript Language Specification, the standard that defines the JavaScript programming language.

Allen Wirfs-Brock has been a strategic technologist, researcher, software architect, startup advisor, assembly language programmer, product developer, and manager. He founded two successful companies and has made major contributions to the design of both the JavaScript and Smalltalk programming languages. He has been a technical leader and contributor at: Mozilla, Microsoft, Instantiations, Parcplace-Digitalk, and Tektronix.

Allen Wirfs-Brock was recognized as an ACM Distinguished Engineer (2009). He has twice been a recipient of an Ecma Award of Appreciation for his contributions to the Ecma International standards organization.

Back Back





only search Ecma International

Level A conformance icon, 
          W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 1.0