Ecma International Home
contact us
Ecma Site Map


Standard ECMA-113
8-Bit Single-Byte Coded Graphic Character Sets - Latin/Cyrillic Alphabet

3rd edition (December 1999)

This Standard specifies a set of 191 graphic characters identified as Latin/Cyrillic Alphabet, and specifies the coded representation of each of these characters by means of a single 8-bit byte. None of these characters are "non-spacing".

The use of control functions, such as BACKSPACE or CARRIAGE RETURN for the coded representation of composite characters is prohibited by this Standard.

The following file can be freely downloaded:

File name Size (Bytes) Content
ECMA-113.pdf 107 904    Acrobat (r) PDF file

This Ecma publication is also approved as ISO 8859-5.

The previous replaced "historical" editions of this Ecma Standard are available here.


Back Back





only search Ecma International

Level A conformance icon, 

          W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 1.0