Ecma International Home
contact us
Ecma Site Map


Standard ECMA-128
8-Bit Single-Byte Coded Graphic Character Sets - Latin Alphabet No. 5

2nd edition (December 1999)

This Standard specifies a set of 191 graphic characters identified as Latin Alphabet No. 5, and specifies the coded representation of each of these characters by means of a single 8-bit byte. None of these characters are "non-spacing".

The use of control functions, such as BACKSPACE or CARRIAGE RETURN for the coded representation of composite characters is prohibited by this Standard.

The following file can be freely downloaded:

File name Size (Bytes) Content
ECMA-128.pdf 114 848    Acrobat (r) PDF file

This Ecma publication is also approved as ISO 8859-9.

The previous replaced "historical" edition of this Ecma Standard is available here.


Back Back





only search Ecma International

Level A conformance icon, 
          W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 1.0